NDC’s Ashiamah wins Buem by-election

National Democratic Congress’ Daniel Kwesi Ashiamah will join the Sixth Parliament as Member for the Buem Constituency.

The marketer, 43, polled 9,366 votes to beat Convention People’s Party’s Nelson Bediako Asafo to win the by-election held on Tuesday, February 26, 2013.

The CPP candidate polled 726 votes representing 6.46 per cent of the valid votes cast.

Mr Ashiamah’s votes represented 84.16 per cent of the 11,060 valid votes cast.

Progressive People’s Party’s candidate, Ellis Akoto-Ade, who was thought to be the main pretender came third with 506 votes.

He was followed by National Vision Party’s Alhaji Muniru, who polled 256 votes.

People’s National Convention’s Adams Darko Boateng came last after polling 211 votes.

Voter turn-out was generally described as low.

It was also worsened by a heavy downpour two hours to closure of polls, our correspondent reported.

Komla Klutse stated on TV3’s News @ 10 that voter turn-out was 30.29 per cent. The total number of registered voters in the Constituency is 37, 127.

Rejected ballots were 187.

The by-election was instanced by the death of Henry Ford Kamel, who had represented the Constituency since 2004.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *