Appointments Committee to vet three today

Parliament’s Appointments Committee is expected to vet three ministerial nominees on Wednesday, January 30, 2013 at the Speaker’s Conference Room.

The vetting comes a day after the Committee’s report on the first batch vetted last week was approved by the House.

The Committee will vet two on Thursday to exhaust the official list presented to it by Speaker Edward Doe Adjaho.

The three expected to appear before the Committee on Wednesday are Akwasi Oppong Fosu (Minister-designate for Local Government and Rural Development), Nana Oye Lithur (Minister-designate for Gender, Children and Social Protection) and Dr Oteng Adjei (Minister-designate for Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation), Majority Chief Whip Alhaji Muntaka Mohammed Mubarak told TV3 News on Monday.

Professor Jane Naana Opoku-Agyemang (Minister-designate for Education) and Dr Edward Omane-Boamah (Minister-designate for Communications) will be vetted on Thursday.

Meanwhile, the seven approved by the House on Tuesday – Seth Terkper for the Finance Ministry, Hannah Tetteh for the Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration Ministry, Alhaji Collins Dauda for the Works, Housing and Water Resources, Alhaji Amin Amidu Sulemani for the Roads and Highways Ministry, Clement Kofi Humado for the Agric Ministry, Alhaji A.B. Fuseini for Lands and Natural Resources Ministry and Mahama Ayariga for the Information and Media Relations Ministry – are expected to be sworn in by President John Dramani Mahama on Wednesday to start official duties.