NDC Leader Mahama congratulates Portuphy; commends Huudu Yahaya for maturity

President John Dramani Mahama has congratulated all the newly-elected executive officers of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), following the conclusion of the 8th National Delegates’ Congress in Kumasi, in the early hours of Sunday.

“I have called our new party Chairman, Mr. Kofi Portuphy, and congratulated him on winning a fair and democratic fight,” stated President Mahama, who is the leader and flagbearer of the party. 

“I have also conveyed, through him, my congratulations and very best wishes to all the other members – both retained and newly-elected – who will now form a new solid leadership to provide an even more effective organisation for our great party, so that all Ghanaians can benefit from the skills, commitment and expertise we have to offer.”

The President has equally extended his immense gratitude to all the outgoing national executives of the NDC. 

“Dr. Kwabena Adjei, Yaw Gyan and others who have been replaced are committed social democrats and lifelong NDC stalwarts, and we must thank them very much for all the sacrifices and contributions they have made for the sake of the party and for Ghana,” President Mahama stated. 

He added that these experienced party colleagues will still be needed to share their knowledge and advice to assist the new executives and the party in moving the Government’s agenda forward.

“We have a lot to do for Ghana, and a lot to offer Ghanaians now and in the years to come. Only the best will do and we will strive to offer the best.”

The President commended Alhaji Hudu Yahaya for the great maturity he displayed in standing down from the Chairmanship contest in the larger interest of the party. 

President Mahama also extended his congratulations to all members of the National Democratic Congress – at home and abroad – on the successful delegates’ conference that has concluded peacefully, smoothly and successfully in the Ashanti Regional capital. 

He urged all members of the party to rally together quickly behind the new executives, in a renewed spirit of unity, dedication and commitment, so that the party can become stronger, better, and more effective in delivering excellent governance and prosperity to the people of Ghana, based on integrity, vision and patriotism.

Source: FHCB


Portuphy, Adams in, incumbents Kwabena Adjei & Boateng Gyan booted out

In what appears to be a revolution in the executive ranks of he National Democratic Congress, two incumbents, Kwabena Adjei (National Chairman) and Yaw Boateng Gyan (National Organiser) have both been kicked out of office.

Their replacements, Kofi Portuphy and Kofi Adams respectively both won with huge margins at the 8th delegates congress of the party which took place at the Baba Yara sports stadium in Kumasi over the weekend.

Winners for the Vice Chair positions include Betty Mould Iddrissu, Samuel Ofosu Ampofo, Alhaji Said Sinare, Harry Zakour, Anita Desouso and Lee Ocran taking the six available slots.

The General Secretary position was retained by Johnson Asiedu Nketia (General Mosquito) who would be deputized by one time presidential spokesperson at Ghana’s presidency, Koku Anyidoho and George Lawson.

Deputy National Organiser slots were taken by Amidu Akamba and Madi Gibril.

By: Martin Asiedu-Dartey||Ghana


Huudu Yahaya pulls out of race, backs Portuphy

A national Chairman aspirant of the NDC, Alhaji Hudu Yahya has pulled out of the race without giving reasons for his decision.

There were rumors last month that he had decided not to run for the position again, a rumor he vehemently denied. He has however thrown his weight behind the former head of the National Disaster Management Organisation (NADMO), Kofi Portuphy.

The position is currently being held by Kwabena Adjei who is seeking reelection. Also I. The race is Dan Abodakpi who was a former Member of Parliament for Keta and former Minister of Trade and Industry under the Rawlings administration.

Over 3,000 delegates have converged at the Baba Yara sports stadium to elect executives for the party to who would steer affairs for the next four years.

By Martin Asiedu-Dartey/